Date:     January 14, 2015


To:          All UF Department Chairs, Graduate Coordinators and Staff


From:    UF Graduate School


RE:          New Fulbright Cost-Sharing Policy



The Graduate School’s Office of Graduate International Outreach would like to announce a new policy created to support departmental internationalization efforts through additional funding for incoming Fulbright fellows to on-campus Master’s and Doctoral programs at the university.


The new policy provides a maximum of 20 non-resident tuition waivers to Fulbright Master’s and Doctoral students per year, for the length of the Fulbright funding, for students from outside the Latin American and Caribbean region. This new waiver policy complements the LAC Scholarship program, which provides an identical waiver to Fulbright fellows from 38 countries and territories, who are automatically eligible for the waiver based on their federal scholarship funding through the Fulbright program.


The policy was developed by a group of stakeholders from across the university who work with various Fulbright programs, and was led by the Dean of the International Center, Dr. Leonardo Villalon. The Provost’s Office, through the support of Dr. Joseph Glover, has pledged the funding for the policy. Matt Mitterko, Associate Director of Graduate International Outreach in the Graduate School will oversee the new policy, and handle existing and new Fulbright tuition waiver requests.


Please visit the included links for more information about the Fulbright fellow program, and the new waiver policy. For questions about utilizing the waiver policy, please contact Matt Mitterko ([log in to unmask]; 352-392-0098).