To: Graduate Deans, Associate Dean, Faculty, Coordinators and staff


From: The Division of Graduate Student Affairs


RE: Winners of the 2016 Florida Statewide Graduate Student Research Symposium-Held on April 22nd in Holloway Touchdown Terrace


Date: April 25, 2016



Greetings all,


The 2016 Florida Statewide Graduate Research Symposium has concluded!  Below you will find a list of this year’s winners.  This event celebrates and recognizes the outstanding scholarly accomplishments of Florida graduate students and highlights the importance of graduate education and research to the state. There were a total of 8 universities represented at the event and a total of 69 posters presented.  An article detailing the event will be placed on the Graduate School website by Wednesday, April 27th for those that would like more information and event photos.


Thank you for helping to make this years’ event a success.   


2016 Florida Statewide Graduate Student Research Symposium winner: 

Arts and Humanities:

First place: Amy Bustin- Florida State University (FSU)

Biological Sciences :

First place: Pritesh Desai- University of Florida (UF)

Second place: Kendra Adams- Florida International University (FIU)


First place: Zachary Collier: University of Florida (UF)

Second Place: Gareth Bryan Wilkinson –Florida State University (FSU)

Second Place: Orhan Simsek- University of South Florida (USF)


First place:  Khurram Soomro- University of Central Florida (UCF)

Second place: Micah McCrary-Dennis- Florida Mechanical & Agricultural University (FAMU)

Health Sciences:

Joonseok Cho- University of Florida (UF)

Danielle Sambo –University of Florida (UF)

Life Sciences:

First place: Abigail Woltering –University of Central Florida (UCF)

Second Place: Makyba Charles- University of Florida (UF)

Social Sciences:

First Place: Stephanie Diez – Florida International University (FIU)

Second Place: Antonina Kulchitskaya –Florida International University (FIU)

If there are any questions or concerns please feel free to contact Dr. Tyisha Hathorn at [log in to unmask] or via phone at 392-6444.