[log in to unmask]" alt="cid:[log in to unmask]">






November 28, 2018




All Graduate Associate Deans, School Directors, Department Chairs, Coordinators and Staff




Dr. Henry T. Frierson
Associate Vice President and Dean
UF Graduate School




2019 AAW Madelyn Lockhart Dissertation Fellowship Applications Now Open



The Association for Academic Women (AAW) at the University of Florida established the Madelyn Lockhart Fellowship to honor a PhD candidate who is both an outstanding researcher and who has contributed to creating a more inclusive and diverse community. One Fellowship in the amount of up to $2,000 will be awarded annually to assist in the dissertation phase of the doctoral degree. 

This award was established to honor Dr. Madelyn Lockhart, who served as Dean of the Graduate School and Dean of International Studies and Programs at the University of Florida from 1985 to 1993 (and also as Associate Dean 1981 to 1985, and Assistant Dean 1973 to 1977 and 1979 to 1981). Dr. Lockhart aided women and minorities in many ways, including the implementation of this Fellowship program. A nomination can come from a faculty member or from the candidate and the candidate can be from any PhD program.

The application and instructions for the applicants, academic units, and colleges are located at the following website (click link): Lockhart Fellowship.

We ask that applicants submit their completed applications to their respective departments/colleges by December 21, 2018 so that the deadline is consistent for all applicants across campus.

We are asking that COLLEGES submit their best applications. Colleges can select and submit up to the number of applicants indicated in the table below.  Colleges should submit their applications to the Graduate School at [log in to unmask] no later than 5pm on February 1, 2019.  Colleges and academic units can choose how determine how to select their best applications, however, Criterion 3 should weigh as strongly as Criteria 1 and 2 combined.  Please note that the Colleges of Dentistry and Law are not included in the list because they do not award the degree of PhD.

The final applications will be reviewed by the AAW panel and the winner will be notified by mid-February. The award will be presented at the Annual Women’s History Month Celebration, typically held in March.  

For further information contact:

Madelyn Lockhart Dissertation Fellowship Committee

c/o Center for Gender, Sexualities, and Women's Studies Research

200 Ustler Hall

PO Box 117352

Gainesville, FL 32611

Email: [log in to unmask]