[cid:[log in to unmask]]



September 5, 2019


All UF Graduate Students


All UF Graduate Deans, Associate Deans, School Directors, Department Chairs, Coordinators and Staff


Dr. Henry T. Frierson
Associate Vice President and Dean
UF Graduate School


2020 AAW Madelyn Lockhart Dissertation Fellowship Applications Now Open

The Association for Academic Women (AAW) at the University of Florida established the Madelyn Lockhart Fellowship to help support a PhD candidate who is both an outstanding researcher and who has contributed to creating a more inclusive and diverse community. It annually awards one fellowship in the amount of up to $2,000 to assist in the dissertation phase of the doctoral degree.
The AAW established this award to honor Dr. Madelyn Lockhart, who served as Dean of the Graduate School and Dean of International Studies and Programs at the University of Florida from 1985 to 1993 (and also as Associate Dean 1981 to 1985, and Assistant Dean 1973 to 1977 and 1979 to 1981). Dr. Lockhart aided women and minorities in many ways, including the implementation of this fellowship program. A nomination can come from a faculty member or from the candidate, and the candidate can be from any PhD program.
Applicants, academic units, and colleges can find the application and instructions for this award online by clicking on this link:
Madelyn Lockhart Dissertation Fellowship<>
Applicants must submit their completed applications to their departments/colleges by November 15, 2019, so that the deadline is consistent for all applicants across campus.
Colleges then submit their best applications. Colleges can select and submit up to the number of applicants indicated in the table in this PDF document online (click the link):
Madelyn Lockhart Dissertation Fellowship Application Instructions to Departments and Colleges<>
Colleges submit their selected applications to the Graduate School via email to [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]> no later than 5 p.m. on January 10, 2020. Colleges and academic units can choose how to determine how to select their best applications - however, Criterion 3 should weigh as strongly as Criteria 1 and 2 combined.  Please note that the Colleges of Dentistry and Law not included in the list because they do not award PhD degrees.
The final applications will be reviewed by the AAW panel and the winner will be notified by mid-February. The award will be presented at the Annual Women's History Month Celebration, held in late March.
For more information contact:
Madelyn Lockhart Dissertation Fellowship Committee
c/o Center for Gender, Sexualities, and Women's Studies Research
200 Ustler Hall
PO Box 117352
Gainesville, FL 32611
Email: [log in to unmask]<mailto:[log in to unmask]>