The Council of Learning Assistance and Developmental Education Associations (CLADEA) is very pleased to announce the 2021 election of three new Fellows!

Deborah Daiek, Jodi Holschuh, and Elaine Richardson will join the prestigious ranks of CLADEA Fellows on Wednesday, September 29, as they are inducted at the NCLCA (National College Learning Center Association) conference held in-person in Birmingham, Alabama.  The induction will take place during the Awards Luncheon, and plans are in place to live-stream the event.

Deb Daiek is emeritus dean of Education Programs and Learning Support at Schoolcraft College and co-founder of Mindtation.  She has been professionally involved with developmental education for 34 years as teacher, faculty, and administrator, also serving in leadership positions in state and national organizations.  Dr. Daiek served as president of NADE (now NOSS).  Her dissertation focused on integrating explicit critical thinking skills into a summer academy program.

Jodi Holschuh is professor of developmental education and Assistant Dean for Faculty Development and Strategic Planning of the College of Education at Texas State University.  Her scholarship has primarily focused on student success and postsecondary academic and disciplinary literacy, with impact on issues faced by instructors, students, and administrators in postsecondary and K-12 schools.   She co-authored CRLA’s first white paper, The Terrain of College Developmental Reading. 

Elaine Richardson is a professor emerita (Department of Animal and Veterinary Sciences) at Clemson University, where she is also past chair of the Emeritus College Advisory Board.  At Clemson she developed and directed the Academic Success Center. Dr. Richardson publishes and presents on learning center collaborations across campus. After serving as president of NCLCA, she led the development of NCLCA’s Centers of Excellence Certification program.

CLADEA’s mission is to provide leadership and a unified voice to advance the profession of postsecondary learning assistance and developmental education, and to foster mutual support among its member organizations: ACTLA, ACTP, CRLA, NCDE, and NCLCA.  Visit for more information and valuable resources.

The CLADEA Fellows program recognizes and honors the most outstanding leaders in the profession. Fellows are selected based on their long-term and significant contributions to the field. Selection as a Fellow represents the highest honor conferred upon professionals in learning assistance, tutoring, and developmental education. Individuals selected as Fellows must be nominated by at least two current Fellows or by a member association.

Congratulations to Deborah, Jodi, and Elaine!

To access the LRNASST-L archives or User Guide, or to change your
subscription options (including subscribe/unsubscribe), point your web browser to

Contact the owner of the listserv regarding questions:  Rob Bailey ([log in to unmask])